Story Board – TVS Wego


A lot has been said about the above advert. From the first looks, you will probably never make out what the ad is all about! Until the Ad reaches its closing stages, for the first time, even I thought the Ad was for some acrobatics promoter or something that would appeal to young couples who want to go naughty on bike! – Yeah!

At the end, though the commercial would probably stick to what it wants to convey, about body balancing in the new TVS Wego, I am still not sure if some of the audience would accept the advert this way! Last week, I was watching a video on the Ads the world never saw and was shocked, with the volume of rejections and on the AdSpend. Coming back to this ad, wondering why such stunts on a bike to promote body balance! Would probably do well imitating a Rajni look-alike than get some models to do nasty things behind their riders!

Sounds foolish, but I would like to really know how many people were impressed by this Ad and would want to try out the Wego brand. While Maxabout rates this bike to be costing over 50K on road, is it worth investing for this uni-sex bike to do stunts? People are far intelligent nowadays and I am not sure what this Ad is trying to convey! When I purchased my first TVS product over 10 years ago, they had stormed the market with the Victor and the Fiero! At that time, they started advertising on their ‘Economy Mode’ n ‘Power Mode’ modes on the mobikes! To date, trust me, the two LEDs have not made any difference in my riding! All I figure out is its a switch which turns out to be light Saffron from Green, when you over-accelerate! Would love to know though, as to how this has impacted on my mileage.

And yes on this stunt-bike, Is there a patent on this? Or, Does someone really not fall when they do such acrobatics? I think it depends on the driver! Would like to check it out once I am back in Mysore sometime in the last week.

About amarharish
Was working as a Consultant for Five Years. Moved on to pursue a Masters in Management at Great Lakes, Chennai. Interests include Hi Tech, Brands, Quizzing, Leadership to name a few!

2 Responses to Story Board – TVS Wego

  1. Karthik says:

    I saw the post only now. Where you so jobless back then? 😛
    BTW balance has to be tested by people like me, you would agree I guess… And ya TVS recently has been coming with ads which are worse than their preceding ones…
    But wondering if they ever had come with a decent ad…

    • amarharish says:

      @Karthik: Yeah! And tested the vehicle, did not like it :). My friend has bought a Mahindra 2Stroke called Kine. That looks much better – but its a 2-stroke :).

Leave a Reply

