Chennai Beat!


Rarely you go out because you want to get out of something that you do not want to do! Well, I did that yesterday and guess what leaving my AC room, I headed to hot and boiling Chennai! Of course the reason was not just that, almost all of India’s telcos have disconnected my phone due to address verification issues and I had to personally Dive In to their one and only store in Chennai to get it rectified! Whew… its high time they start traveling on ECR and see what all is around!

The trip was good in the fact that I used almost every accessible mode of transport except waterways in Chennai! But well it still surprises me that one of the upcoming GSM major in India has just one Dive In store for the whole of Chennai in a place called Chetpet. I had to change a one bus and one train to go to Chetpet and trust me, it somewhat brought back the memories of…. Yes… The London Tubes…. 🙂

The trains in Chennai are not as great as the tubes, but well the maps very much resemble the tube maps, but are very simple to understand. I know people who struggled to understand the color coding etc… in the London Tube map, and the maze that it resembles, but Chennai just seems to be one tenth of that size and is not complicated. The trains were clean and decent and may be worth trying once or twice, if you hop down here – just as a tourist.

Then on I headed to Mt. Road, after hearing all about it being the widest road in Chennai. Yes, true it was and had all decent looking buildings, but I was a little bit let down. I was informed that Chennai’s best mall Spencers Plaza is on Mt Rd and trust me, it is like Jayanagar Shopping Complex in namma Bengalooru. I was looking for a mall like structure and took ten mins. to figure out that this was really a mall!!! Anyway got the normal bite that I wanted there – The Australian Cookieman! and then headed back to Manamai, having COSTLY tender coconuts on the way! Got to run to a guest lecture, so will probably cut the blog short, even though I may have more to write. But before that, some snaps of Mt. Rd.

Mount Road

Mount Road

Mount Road - Another Shot

Mount Road - Another Shot

About amarharish
Was working as a Consultant for Five Years. Moved on to pursue a Masters in Management at Great Lakes, Chennai. Interests include Hi Tech, Brands, Quizzing, Leadership to name a few!

Leave a Reply

