Sleepless… But Enjoying!


Its been a week almost since I landed in Chennai. It was a pleasant KF flight that brought me here and well, my nightmares of surviving in the hot weather proved to be a lil wrong! Chennai, I am being told has three kinds of weather, Hot, Hotter and Hottest and, we are supposedly in the ‘hotter’ period. God Save Me when we move over to the Hottest… In my past visit here, I could recollect visiting the VGP Golden Beach etc… trust me, the city is still the same! I could recognize the places in spite of being here after such a long time! Coming back to the reason I am in Chennai, had a really warm welcome to Great Lakes Institute of Management, both weather-wise as well as people-wise. An amazing mix of enthu of the people around me and the cushion given by the previous batch over the first few days here has been great and I am sure enjoyable! To sum up here is my journey over the past four days! It definitely looks like “Ye Who enter here.. Welcome to Heaven’nHell”

Day 1: Landed at Anna International Airport Chennai, the flight circled over the seas twice as there was a dog on the runway! Smooth exit. Neel and me had amazing fun on the way seeing people wearing silky flowered shirts which usually are some things that we were avert to. Registrations at great lakes, old campus, we were siphoned off in a coach to the sprawling new campus. Good arrangements to ensure our luggage reached here before us :). Found my cozy room and settled in.

Day1/2: I had to write it in such a way! We had sessions with Patriots starting from noon around 3 till next day morning 5:30! Well, will not discuss on the contents as this may currently not be an appropriate forum. It was fun and learning together, for the first time, I did not sleep to study in my life! Up again at 9, networked and socialized at the campus, lack of sleep was getting on to me. Had a one-one with Rod (Rohit), for a committee and was back in the bed at 11 as I had to be up at 4:30 next morning!

Day 3: Up at 4, took a coach to Chennai Trade center at 6:30. Amazing stuff, N R Narayan Murthy, Bala Balachandran, A Mahendran (Godrej Sara Lee), Adam Simkins all one stage. After the inauguration of our batch, had tea in a local kakas hop and headed to VGP Golden Beach for a party. In between, I remember having collected books and study materials on MicroEconomics, and am searching for them even now after I misplaced. The rest, as usual again back at 12Am and slept!

Day 4: Up at 4 again for a outbound learning program with ELSA. Had a Commando training and some Psychology tests. Gosh! I have been with a psychology professor for almost 27 years and again…..! Had a Karaoke session in the evening. Nice day, w.r.t Sleep :).

Day 5: On Now, have outbound again today, strenuous but worthwhile, scheduled salsa classes in the noon!

In the process, met the world’s best Managerial Accounting Guru, Dr. Bala V Balachandran, who in fact is our dean! A very simple and down to earth man, who once again proved that my thoughts on, all achievers being down to earth was right.

So thats it for now folks, If I find time out of Economics, Accounting and what not, will publish more posts on GL and my life here as a Gladiator.

Cheers

About amarharish
Was working as a Consultant for Five Years. Moved on to pursue a Masters in Management at Great Lakes, Chennai. Interests include Hi Tech, Brands, Quizzing, Leadership to name a few!

4 Responses to Sleepless… But Enjoying!

  1. dhanraj says:

    enjoy maadi

  2. Vishal Mantri says:

    Whew!!!! Salsa too!!!! thy gonna groom guys in evry form 😉

  3. Reshma says:

    Cool!! Karaoke n salsa?? 😉
    Did u actually sing n dance?

    Imagining u in D3 commando suits 🙂 Capt. Amar

  4. Pingback: Bee School Chronicles…. Part I « Life… As It Is…

Leave a Reply

