Customer Service


I have been using BSNL services for over 26 years now. Yes I was probably even welcomed into my house as a baby with the ringing of a telephone, given that my dad was working in the then Department of Telecommunications, Govt. of India. The DoT has undergone massive changes and is now, in the form of BSNL, Bharath Sanchar Nigam Limited. However, even after my dad retired, most of the people who call up our house, keep complaining that there is poor customer service from BSNL. Well, I have a point to make here. They have provided me the best customer service, weather I go in for a new service or disconnect my old one.

The only problem that people may face is that BSNL is a little ‘not too dodgy’, about rules which many are unaccustomed to. Well, what’s the problem as long as the service is good and works wherever you want… why bother? And regarding the rules, follow it, its governed by laws.

BSNL had launched a 3G wireless CDMA broadband service – the EVDO, in select cities and I had purchased one for myself. It offered speeds utpo 2MBps in Mysore and of course only upto 300kbps in Bangalore. I had initial hiccups in starting my device and trust me, they invited me to their telephone exchange and set it right within minutes. The problem was not with their network, it was with the device supplied by ZTE. Well, usually people come back telling people never respond in BSNL offices, turst me it was otherwise.

Now that it was decided that I would move out of Karnataka, I decided to get my EVDO disconnected. The whole process, was done within ten minutes. I was offered an option of going for national roaming, when I said, NO, well, it was a matter of minutes for the entire process with a written notice that my device will be active till tonight. All this within ten minutes, its the same organization that people often criticize! I think they have turned a new leaf! Again, the reason for this article was not to promote BSNL 😉 I use other networks, whenever I am out of my hometown :), but just to point out that its no more the same ‘once called lazy’ organization. Kudos to whoever handles the customer service now!

PS: I had one doubt though! I was working in telecom for almost the past 5 years and as far as I am aware, we need to change the SIM to move from 2G to 3G in UK as we would be offered an upgraded SIM! BSNL however claims that you send an SMS and your 2G SIM will become 3G :)! Can we vouch for this? Funny though, the capacities of a 2G SIM will be lower than that of a 3G, so how will I be able to utilize all the services offered by the 3G? Calls for a debate… until I wait for Airtel to open their 3G networks :(.

About amarharish
Was working as a Consultant for Five Years. Moved on to pursue a Masters in Management at Great Lakes, Chennai. Interests include Hi Tech, Brands, Quizzing, Leadership to name a few!

2 Responses to Customer Service

  1. dhanraj says:

    so days of cursing EVDO is over now..

    • amarharish says:

      @Dhana: Yes. It was running at speeds of 2MBPS of late :). I think Bangalore networks are too clogged. I am missing it though. Whenever there is a power cut (luckily there are few bcoz of the GP elections :)), now there is no net access!

Leave a Reply

