When you start loving the public transport!


To be honest, I have not been a part of even a single bus day initiative kicked off by R Ashok, the transport minister of Karnataka. Co-incidentally I have traveled in an auto on all the four Bus Day’s until now that have been organized by BMTC in association with an NGO in Bangalore. Blame it on not having direct buses at appropriate time from the place of my stay to Cunningham’s or the attractive Green Auto’s on roads, whichever it is!

But with the pockets pinching over the past one week, as I have no more constant income, I have stuck to using low cost public transport. Note low-cost, I have stopped using the Volvo/ Mercedes services between Bangalore and Mysore and have moved back to the Red Bus! Today, of course, I celebrated Bus day compensating all the previous bus days missed by me and honestly, hats off to the transport organizations in both Bangalore and Mysore and JnNURM for revolutionizing them further.

Back to Mysore by train, from a day’s visit to Bangalore, to Varun’s new Ice-Cream Shoppe venture etc etc… I convinced my dad not to pick me up from the train station! Trust me, I was again amazed by the road transport facilities in Mysore. With digital signboards, indicating your wait for the next bus (116, to Infosys is pretty frequent ;)), I was sort of reminded of waiting for a bus in Piccadilly, minus the ambiance and well, a totally opposite weather!

So, folks my request with such amazing frequencies and service from BMTC/ MTS I think you must stick to Public Transport whenever possible! You wont feel bad, with the quality you are getting now a days, of course, maintain it pretty well as well, its your responsibility too!

About amarharish
Was working as a Consultant for Five Years. Moved on to pursue a Masters in Management at Great Lakes, Chennai. Interests include Hi Tech, Brands, Quizzing, Leadership to name a few!

One Response to When you start loving the public transport!

  1. InfyMysore says:

    Yeah I love the new Volvos to infy as well… They are amazing.

Leave a Reply

