Four Corporate Years


For the first time, I have officially spent more time outside the college than I did inside it.  My PreUniv lasted just two years and another four years for grads.  Four years of being a Corporate Honcho has got me nothing more than a tummy and has made me more eligible to learn almost nothing.

To earmark my second longest relationship with any institution, I write this blog expecting that this would not take the spot of being the longest. A relationship where I would have preferred to break up and probably vice versa, where the company would have preferred to break up with me, but still we both have cordially lived life together till now.

This post is going to list out the positives and negatives and probably my life as it shaped over the past four years in my company!

Post August 2005: A rainy start to my career on the 4th of August, on the Outer Ring Road in BTM Layout. Weirdly dressed in formals, I made it to our so called corporate training center traveling over 16 Kms. My efforts to search for a proper residence close by was in vain as I found every bylane in Bangalore to be dingy and filty and crowded and muddy! Being used to the wide and empty roads of Mysore, I was not getting adjusted to the Bangalore roads! Settled down in Rajaji Nagar in an aunt’s place and well ensured that I have a good start in the then Bangalore.

Two months passed, Bangalore was not getting into me and health was failing due to the weather. I was in deep shit! Called home and told my mom that I want to quit and continue with studies. These dud technologies were not getting into my head as well. Got support from home and without preparation I took the CAT 2005 and well the result was as expected. No Calls.

Meanwhile the not so snazzy – but still I am cool sort of HRs and the other higher ups in my company stopped impressing me and my instincts carried on with the idea of getting out of Bangalore, which still remains a dream.

Nothing else happened for the rest of the year, I just moved into a team after training and shifted between aunt’s house and a house in BTM, where again, I could not feel at home. Aunt moved to RT Nagar as well and I decided to settle in Vijayanagar given that my company was not confirming where my posting after training would be!

Almost at the fag end, was well settled within the team and had decided on two things. One, I wont stay in BTM Layout again. Two, Life has to change after CAT 2006.

Post August 2006: “Absolutely fantastic”, these were the flatteries at work for nothing. Absolutely nothing. Got promoted that year, ducked CAT again and the call to quit Bangalore grew more and more within! The year also saw me learn new technologies like SAP/ABAP R-4 which took me nowhere.

This was probably the most uneventful year of my life, except that I got a few good friends at work. I used to spend More time at traffic and less time at home and work! That was “Namma Bangalore”. Health was deteriorating due to the pollen and I had almost lost my resistance power (at least thats what I felt).

The call to quit Bangalore, grew up and I attended an interview with Infosys, with the hope of being placed in Mysore. But that was the only thing that was not offered to me and well, I preferred traveling to City Center than E City, and further augment my non technical knowledge. But to be honest, I was not doing anything almost for the whole year.

Post August 2007: It was three years in the company. A monumental reason given the rates of attrition! My company won a huge contract and lost it. I was slated to travel onshore for that and it did not happen. But opportunity knocked me out once more and I had to travel in November – missing another round of CAT.

Bristol Ahoy! British Airways safely landed me in London Heathrow and well I toured the entire United Kingdom in three months and returned back to India. The year ushered in an era where Benagaluru was born from Bangalore. But work remained the same after I came back as well. I was rather overworked and furstrated. Had taken an off and moved out of my office area on the joining date and celebrated quitely at home.

Destiny ensured that I would not turn 24, in India and had a bad Birthday in Bristol. It was quite a lazy and tame year, but quite eventful in terms of my visits to UK.

Post August 2008: Destiny had it and I had to go to UK, to convince someone that we could handle a managed service with our knowledge! I did that, but well fell out with my own management in a dialogue over honesty at work and professionalism with my communistic thoughts conveying to them that they were neither.

Most of this time was spent at work, trying to impress the client and to a large extent I succeeded. As destiny had it, I turned 25 in UK and landed back in India as well. Its a pleasure to come back and its refreshing to be back home and look forward now for a positive turn at last!

Now I look forward to make most of what all I can when I can…. Going by the words of A life… as it is.

About amarharish
Was working as a Consultant for Five Years. Moved on to pursue a Masters in Management at Great Lakes, Chennai. Interests include Hi Tech, Brands, Quizzing, Leadership to name a few!

2 Responses to Four Corporate Years

  1. Ravishankar says:

    ಚೆನ್ನಾಗಿದೆ 🙂

  2. Good Post………..It has brought lot of memories of THBS. Keep posting…..

Leave a Reply

