The Bengaluru Ganesh Utsav


It has been just a month since I moved to Basavangudi and believe me the area has left me awe inspired!

I was tired of the most boring life in UK and before that the much hyped life in Vijaynagar and definitely needed a change of mood (similar to work ;))! Basavangudi has really given me a change to explore the rich cultural heritage and of course lavish namma Bengalooru cusine across each of its streets :).

What has caught my attention in my short stay here is the Bengaluru Ganesh Utsav. Its conducted by the Vidyaranya Yuvakara Sangha on a grand scale every year. I had heard of this for quite some time and I had the privilege to witness it for the first time this time around. Bilmey its a huge hit and I am impressed.

The Utsav has promoted culture – something that we seem to have lost the most in the recent past.  It has brought stalwarts like Kavitha Krishnamurthy, Jagjit Singh, Kunal Ganjawala etc.. on a single stage to enthrall the audience numbering in thousands! Way to go BGU!

Yesterday I had been to the Utsav to watch Kunal Ganjawala perform and trust me it took around half an hour to come out of the set up. The crowd braved the rain! Someone even mentioned “Horagade Mungaaru Male, Olagade Kunaal na Gaanada Hole” – translating to “Its raining outside, but its raining songs inside”. The function was inaugurated by Mr R Anantha Kumar, Hon’ble MP from Bengalooru Dakshina constituency. He did surprise me taking the word Mysore in almost every sentence. However people try the Mysore connection never leaves :). In all it was a good concert, had to come back home and listen from my balcony which of course is right behind the Acharya Paath Shaala grounds, given the crowd!

Some Trivia from yesterdays concert: Kunal’s in law is from Namma Mysooru.  His sis is it seems married to a Mysorean who introduced him to the Rajkumar family to sing in his first film – Aakash in Kannada (Neene Neene song).

Today the Utsav has Pt. HariPrasad Chaurasia’s concert. Hope to find some seat today at least. Bangaloreans have braved all the flu’s etc… to enjoy this festival. I really admire that sprit. Cheers!

About amarharish
Was working as a Consultant for Five Years. Moved on to pursue a Masters in Management at Great Lakes, Chennai. Interests include Hi Tech, Brands, Quizzing, Leadership to name a few!

Leave a Reply

